

# LOYOLA COLLEGE OF SOCIAL SCIENCES

(Accredited (Third Cycle) with a CGPA of 3.72 on Four Point Scale at A Grade in 2014 NAAC).



# HANDBOOK AND CALENDAR 2021 - 2022

Name	
-	Semester

### P. Scholarship For deserving Students

A moderate sum is available every year for deserving candidates. Those interested in availing the same may contact the Principal / Vice Principal. Students are also encouraged to contribute to the fund.

#### Merit Awards

A committee appointed by the Principal will manage the distribution of the following awards and prizes:

# 1. Dr. Jose Murickan Retirement Endowment Gold Medal

Instituted by the Loyola College Alumni Association to be awarded for the First Rank holder in MA Sociology.

# 2. Dr. Helena Judith Endowment Gold Medal

Instituted by the Alumni Association for the First Rank holder in MSW Medical & Psychiatric Social Work Specialisation.

# 3. Fr. Joye James Retirement Endowment Gold Medal

Instituted by the Staff and Alumni Association for the First Rank Holder in MSW-Community Development specialization.

## 4. Dr. Ravikumar S. P. Endowment Gold Medal

Instituted by Dr. Ravikumar S.P. for the First Rank Holder in M.A. Human Resource Management.

### 5. Fr. Joseph Puthenkalam Memorial Gold Medal

Instituted by the Management of the Loyola College to be awarded for the First Rank holder in MSc Counselling Psychology.

# 6. Prof. R Gopalakrishnan Nair Retirement Endowment Gold Medal

Instituted by the Loyola College Alumni Association to be awarded to the Best student project work (MSW).

#### 7. Dr. E J Thomas Retirement Endowment Gold Medal

Instituted by Teaching Staff of Loyola College to be awarded to the best student project work ( MA Sociology).

#### 8. Dr. Mathew Zachariah Memorial Cash Award

Instituted by Smt. Kunjamma Zachariah in memory of her husband Dr. Mathew Zachariah, former lecturer, to be awarded to the top scorer in the paper, Sociological Theories.

# 9. Smt. Shirly Mathew Chakumkal Cash Award

Instituted by Prof: C. J. Mathew to be given to the Top Scorer in the paper, Sociology of Marginalized Communities.

### 10. Mr. T. S. Thomas Retirement Cash Award

Instituted by the Staff and Alumni Association to be awarded to a Social Work Student with Potential.

### 11. Dr. M.K. George Retirement Endowment Cash Award

Instituted by the Staff and Alumni Association to be awarded to a Sociology Student with Potential.

# 12. Mrs. Somi Jacob Cash Award

Instituted by Mr. James (Somi's husband) and Mrs. Somi's class mates to be given to a Student with Potential

# 13. Mr. N.V. John Memorial Scholarship

Instituted by Dr. Usha John (Former Principal) and Ms. Sheela Robin to be given to Students with Potential.

# 14. Mr. Shibu Haridas Memorial Students Scholarship

Instituted by Batch 2003 to be given to the Students with Potential.

# 15. Mr. George Prathap Endowment Award

Instituted by MSW and MA Students of 1976-78 batch to be awarded to Students with Potential.

# 16. Dr. Mariamma Joseph and Prof. R. Gopalakrishnan Nair Award

Instituted by their families and Friends for deserving students.

## 17. Loyola Jesuit Community Scholarship

Instituted by Loyola Jesuit Community for deserving students.

# 18. Dr. Murali Nair Scholarship

Instituted by Dr. Murali Nair (1965-67 batch) as a tribute to his alma mater on the 50<sup>th</sup> year of his entrance to the college, given to a student who manifests interest in the culture and heritage of India.

# 19. Dr. Mariamma Joseph Retirement Endowment Award

Instituted by Late Dr. Mariamma Joseph to be given to (1) Best Student Award for Innovation, (2) Best Student Award for Campus Contribution (3) Best Student Award for Accomplishment.

### 20. Smt. N.V .Vasumathy Awards

Instituted by Late Prof: R. Gopalakrishnan Nair (Former Principal) to be given to the Kalathilakam and Kalaprathibha.

## 21. Mr.K.J. Joseph Memorial Scholarship

Instituted by Dr.Jose Boban K (Former Principal) in memory of his father Mr. K.J. Joseph to the second year Sociology students for their dissertation work.

## 22. Cash Award

Instituted by Dr.Jose Boban K (Former Principal) to be given to the Sociology student who is the top scorer in the paper 'Social Statistics'.

#### 23. Sargaprathibha Awards

Instituted by Dr.Jose Boban K (Former Principal) to be given to the Sargaprathibha in art and sargaprathibha in writing.

### 24. Felix Thomas (MSW 1979) Memorial Scholarship

Instituted by his wife Mrs. Geetha Thomas (MSW 1979).

### 25. Alumni Association Golden Jubilee Award

Instituted by Alumni Association on its Golden Jubilee Year to be given to the First Rank holders in MA Sociology, MSW, MA HRM & MSc.